Lab tests
Hemoglobin A1c cost in Texas
Hemoglobin A1c is a lab test. Many labs sell tests directly to the public for a flat cash price, often far below hospital prices.
Typical cash price
In Texas
From 506 hospital and 57 clinic prices in Texas.
Nationwide typical: $51 (most listed prices $10.41–$171).
Usually included: the facility fee.
Cheapest in Texas
Total price
Hemoglobin A1c
The facility fee
How totals are compared
Every total covers the same bundle: the facility fee. Where a hospital does not publish a part, the typical published amount is added and the total is marked estimated.
In Texas, from 555 providers. Most listed prices: $15.87–$481.
Cheapest totals nearby
- $3.94
- $4
- $4.20
- $3.94est. $3.94 totalSource: beaconfamilymed.com · checked Oct 2026
- $4est. $3.94 totalSource: beaconfamilymed.com · checked Oct 2026
- Grace Health Direct Primary Care, PLLCDiabetes Screening Test (HbA1C) · Hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c)Ask what's included$4est. $4 total
Per test, additional to membership. Members only: $50–$115/month by age, plus enrollment of $200/person, $300/couple (same household), or $350/family (up to 2 parents and all dependents under 26 in the same household).
Source: gracedpc.com · checked Oct 2026 - $4.20est. $4.20 total
Doctor fees are billed separately.
Source: Crockett Medical Center price file · checked Oct 2026 - $4.25est. $4.25 total
Member price; $52/month membership required. New patients pay a one-time $20 administrative fee. Additional phlebotomy fee; amount unspecified. Insurance not accepted.
Source: drzmedicalclinic.com · checked Oct 2026 - $5est. $5 total
Doctor fees are billed separately.
Source: Nacogdoches Memorial Hospital price file · checked Oct 2026 - $5est. $5 total
$5 per test for DPC members. Paid membership required; membership cost and term are not stated on this page.
Source: sadpcah.com · checked Oct 2026 - $5est. $5 total
$5 per test, additional to membership fees. Membership cost and term are not stated on this page. Pricing is subject to change.
Source: sadpc.com · checked Oct 2026 - $6est. $6 total
Doctor fees are billed separately.
Source: North Texas Medical Center price file · checked Oct 2026 - $6est. $6 total
Doctor fees are billed separately.
Source: Lillian M. Hudspeth Memorial Hospital price file · checked Oct 2026 - $6.60est. $6.60 total
Doctor fees are billed separately. +1 more in this system at the same published price.
Source: Palestine Regional Medical Center price file · checked Oct 2026 - $6.84est. $6.84 total
Doctor fees are billed separately.
Source: Kindred Hospital Clear Lake price file · checked Oct 2026
Common questions
Do I need a doctor's order?
In most states, direct-to-consumer labs can sell many tests without a separate doctor visit. Some states and some tests still require an order.
Is the blood draw included?
Usually yes for lab stores and booking sites. Hospitals sometimes bill the draw (venipuncture) separately.
Why are prices so different?
Each hospital and clinic sets its own cash price. Hospitals publish prices because federal rules require it; clinics and booking sites set prices to compete. The same service can cost several times more at one place than at another nearby.
Can I pay cash if I have insurance?
Yes. You can choose to self-pay. A cash price is often lower than what you would pay before meeting your deductible. Cash payments may not count toward your deductible, so check with your plan. Our cash vs. insurance tool can help you decide.
What is a Good Faith Estimate?
If you are uninsured or paying cash, providers must give you a Good Faith Estimate of the cost on request. If your final bill is $400 or more above the estimate, you can dispute it.